Donate »
← Return to blog

John Kennedy's Blog

St. Tammany Parish Elected Officials Unite to Endorse John Kennedy for U.S. Senate

Covington, LA—Today, John Kennedy stood with St. Tammany Parish President Pat Brister to announce the endorsements of 32 St. Tammany elected officials in support of his campaign for the U.S. Senate.

The extensive list includes mayors, legislators, parish council members, city council members, school board members, and the former chair of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.

“We need someone in Washington, D.C. who isn’t afraid to take on the big fights,” said Brister. “We’ve worked together for years fighting to protect the interests of taxpayers, and I’m excited to know our next U.S. Senator will be from right here in St. Tammany. He is the obvious choice for our parish and me.”

Brister is the President of St. Tammany Parish, a former Ambassador under President George W. Bush, and the first woman to serve as chairman of the Louisiana Republican Party.

“I’m honored to have Pat’s support because she puts her constituents first by working to promote economic growth and grow business and industry in St. Tammany Parish,” said Kennedy. “The St. Tammany elected officials standing with us today understand the importance of fighting to bring fiscal sanity to the U.S. Senate. I’m proud to call St. Tammany home and will work to make the people of Louisiana proud.”

Elected officials endorsing Kennedy today included:

  • Parish President Pat Brister
  • State Senator Jack Donahue
  • Former chair of the U.S. Chamber Maura Donahue
  • Former Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs Lane Carson
  • State Representative Reid Falconer
  • State Representative Paul Hollis
  • State Representative J. Kevin Pearson
  • State Representative John Schroder
  • Former State Representative Tim Burns
  • Abita Springs Mayor Greg Lemons
  • Covington Mayor Mike Cooper
  • Folsom Mayor Bettye Boggs
  • Mandeville Mayor Donald Villere
  • Parish Council Member S. Michele Blanchard
  • Parish Council Member Marty Dean
  • Parish Council Member Jacob Groby, III
  • Parish Council Member Mike Lorino
  • Parish Council Member Steve Stefancik
  • Parish Council Member Richard Tanner
  • Covington City Council Member Larry Rolling
  • Madisonville City Council Member Brad Haddox
  • Mandeville City Council Member David Ellis
  • Abita Springs Alderman Ryan Murphy
  • Pearl River Alderman David McGregor
  • School Board Member Ron Bettencourtt
  • School Board Member Sharon Drucker
  • School Board Member Beth Heintz
  • School Board Member Rickey Hursey, Jr.
  • School Board Member Robert Womack
  • Republican Executive Committee Member James Hartman
  • Republican State Central Committee Member Eric Camp
  • Republican State Central Committee Member Jacki Schneider

In addition to announcing the endorsements, today was also the grand opening of the Kennedy campaign Northshore headquarters. It will be open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. People are welcome to stop by 321 N. Vermont Street in Covington to pick up yard signs and other campaign materials.

These elected officials are the latest in a long list of Louisiana leaders joining the campaign including former Governors Mike Foster and Buddy Roemer. Kennedy also continues to lead in all polling of the race.

Louisiana State Seal

Newsletter Signup

Department of Treasury Website

Kennedy on Facebook

Kennedy on Twitter

Kennedy on Flickr